1. Sign our petition calling on Cochrane to withdraw their review of Exercise Therapy for CFS here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, the 'News in Brief' for the week beginning 8th April 2024 is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome! To read the Core Purpose and Values of our forum, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

Vivid Dreams After Unusual Foods

Discussion in 'General and other signs and symptoms' started by DokaGirl, Sep 27, 2018.

1. DokaGirl

DokaGirl Senior Member (Voting Rights)

When I eat foods new to me, or foods I haven't eaten in sometime, I have vivid, usually disturbing dreams the following night.

I wonder if my microbiome becomes accustomed to certain foods, and gets thrown off with the introduction of a food I rarely eat, or one I've never tried before. It doesn't matter what type of food it is. It is also an interesting possibility that the microbiome could affect dreams. There are "cheese dreams".

I've had ME for 33 years, and vivid dreams after unusual food has happened many times.

2. ladycatlover

ladycatlover Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Occasionally I have very vivid dreams, but I've never linked them to food. Maybe I should start to think about that!

Last night I had a dream that I saw a grey squirrel in the caravan field (we're staying in static caravan in a field in Wales). We saw one about a week ago, husband saw it too, so that was definitely real! ;) First time in over 40 years that we've seen a squirrel round here. But I'm pretty certain my "second sighting" of it was actually a dream. But very realistic, to the extent that this morning I was convinced it was a memory rather than a dream, if that makes sense. :rolleyes: We'd been talking of planting tulips in pots on the deck last night, and I was wondering if they'd get eaten by the squirrel should it return, rabbits love tulip bulbs, so I was guessing squirrels probably do too. So there was some kind of reason why I might have a dream about the squirrel!