A question about mitochondria

Discussion in 'Post-Exertional malaise and fatigue' started by Arnie Pye, Jun 2, 2024.

1. Arnie Pye

Arnie Pye Senior Member (Voting Rights)

I'm not a scientist, so bear that in mind if you read this and think I'm asking a stupid question.

I've been thinking about mitochondria. Various quotes from the wikipedia article about them :

There are many mitochondrial diseases known and some are listed in this link :

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitochondrial_disease

I gather that mitochondrial diseases occur due to problems with the DNA in the mitochondrion of a cell.

Getting to my actual question...

Is it possible for a healthy cell to have, say, 2000 mitochondria, then when the "owner" of that cell catches an infection, either viral or bacterial, the number diminishes to, say, 1000 but leaves the cell able to continue to live and function but when it divides it creates "offspring" with just a 1000 mitochondria?

I was wondering whether there could be no obvious disease in a cell, but instead just too few mitochondria to produce the required amount of energy for the cell to do its job.

2. Creekside

Creekside Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Also no expert, but I get the impression that number of mitochondria in a cell is relatively easy to measure, and a distinct difference between cells in PWME vs people without ME would have been noticed already.

3. Adrian

Adrian Administrator Staff Member

I thought the idea that some were talking about was that its not the mitrocondria that are bad but the signalling to them so they are not functioning as required. But I've not been following closely.

4. Arnie Pye

I haven't come across that idea about signalling. Do you have a link?

Ash, Peter Trewhitt and alktipping like this.
  5. Adrian

Adrian Administrator Staff Member