1. Sign our petition calling on Cochrane to withdraw their review of Exercise Therapy for CFS here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, the 'News in Brief' for the week beginning 8th April 2024 is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome! To read the Core Purpose and Values of our forum, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

Caroline Struthers' letter to Cochrane Governing Board

Discussion in 'Psychosomatic news - ME/CFS and Long Covid' started by Peter Trewhitt, Nov 29, 2018.

1. Peter Trewhitt

Peter Trewhitt Senior Member (Voting Rights)

This is my first attempt at creating a thread so Admin feel free to sort out any mistakes I make. I noticed on Anil about ME's Facebook page the following link:

https://healthycontrolblog.wordpres...iew-of-exercise-for-chronic-fatigue-syndrome/

Caroline Struthers says of her letter posted in the above link:

The timing seems particularly interesting given it is my understanding that David Tovey at Cochrane had said previously [October 2018] that the review authors had been asked to take into account complaints and that the issues arround this debate were hoped to be resolved by the end of November. Though how a rewrite and any review process could have been achieved on such a short time scale is beyond me.

Last edited: Nov 29, 2018
  2. Kalliope

Kalliope Senior Member (Voting Rights)

3. Kalliope

Kalliope Senior Member (Voting Rights)

- This review has had a catastrophic effect on people with ME who are still being forced to have an ineffective and potentially harmful treatment. Imagine if it was a drug or a vaccine with even a fraction of the evidence of harm, combined with such poor evidence of benefit? People assume that Cochrane is independent, has high scientific standards and is vigilant and robust about dealing with conflict of interest. In my view, and certainly in this case, this assumption is incorrect.

This review should be retracted and Cochrane should issue a full unreserved apology to patients.