Don Staines and Griffith

Discussion in 'ME/CFS research' started by Sunshine3, Aug 3, 2018.

1. Sunshine3

Sunshine3 Senior Member (Voting Rights)

I think I read before that members were wary of Don Staine's research at Griffith University. I couldn't find it here...I got the invest in ME Conference DVD, haven't watched his presentation yet. Don't want false hope...is there a reason their research isn't considered strong?

2. Trish

Trish Moderator Staff Member

I watched his presentation and thought it was OK, but I'm not an expert.

The main worry, as I understand it, about his research is that his department seem to be very keen on publicity that hypes up the significance of their small studies, claiming, for example, that they have found a biomarker from a single small study. I think this is partly so they can get funding for further studies.

In the talk at the conference, if I remember it rightly, he was much more cautious about making unwarranted claims and simply described some of their research. I don't know enough about the details of the science to judge the quality of their work.

To be honest I can't remember the details, but he didn't seem to be saying they had found anything groundbreaking. I think you are safe to watch it just to get the general impression that research is happening and some interesting stuff is being found, but we don't know how significant it is.

MEMarge, Simone, Pechius and 7 others like this.
  3. Melanie

Melanie Senior Member (Voting Rights)

I don't even believe they have a biomarker. Most researchers in the US have remained pretty quiet although I do remember someone in the research field saying something to the effect that they don't have too much faith in what they have "found".

MEMarge, Simone, Inara and 5 others like this.
  4. Ron

Ron Established Member (Voting Rights)

Posted on FB:National Centre for Neuroimmunology and Emerging Diseases - NCNED

A turning point for CFS/ME Research