How I rewired my brain in six weeks

Discussion in 'Other psychosomatic news and research' started by CRG, Sep 23, 2023.

1. CRG

CRG Senior Member (Voting Rights)

BBC

How I rewired my brain in six weeks

There is growing evidence that simple, everyday changes to our lives can alter our brains and change how they work. Melissa Hogenboom put herself into a scanner to find out.

"It's surprisingly hard to think of nothing at all", is one of my first thoughts as I'm lying in the maw of a machine that is scanning my brain. I was told to focus on a black cross while the functional Magnetic Resonance Imagine (fMRI) machine does its noisy work. It also feels impossible to keep my eyes open. The hum of the scanner is somewhat hypnotic, and I worry a little bit that drifting off will affect how my brain appears on the resulting images.

As a science journalist I've always been fascinated by the workings of the mind, which is how I found myself inside a scanner at Royal Holloway, University of London, to have my brain examined before embarking on a six-week brain-altering course.

My goal was to investigate whether there's a way we can influence meaningful brain change ourselves. By altering aspects of my daily life, I hoped to find out if it is possible to strengthen crucial connections in our brain, and keep our mind healthier in the process. Along the way I learnt techniques we can all use – with some powerful results.
    Simple mindfulness exercises can help keep our minds healthy, research shows (Credit: BBC)

More of this lurid nonsense at link: https://www.bbc.com/future/article/20230912-how-i-hacked-my-brain

2. EndME

EndME Senior Member (Voting Rights)