1. Sign our petition calling on Cochrane to withdraw their review of Exercise Therapy for CFS here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, the 'News in Brief' for the week beginning 15th April 2024 is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome! To read the Core Purpose and Values of our forum, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

Is marfanoid habitus defined by the four ratio only?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia and Connective Tissue Disorders' started by Blizna, Apr 19, 2020.

1. Blizna

Blizna New Member

Hi,

being a researcher myself (not a medical doctor), I find it difficult to find a source defining the features of marfanoid habitus. Most sources cite R.Grahame and the following:

Hand length : Height ratio > 0.11
    Foot length : Height ratio > 0.15
    Arm span: Height ratio > 1.03
    Upper: lower segment < 0.89

There are additional signs, of course (high arched palate, arachnodactyly etc.) but it seems quite unclear what signs have to present to consider one a marfanoid or incomplete marfanoid. In Grahame's great paper (Arachnodactyly: A key to diagnosing heritable disorders of connective tissue), it is implied that one has to have all the four ratios abnormal to be considered marfanoid but it is not clear.

I have read that there are some other researchers and some directly from this area so I would appreciate any insight.

alktipping likes this.
  2. Jonathan Edwards

Jonathan Edwards Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Hi @Blizna,
    I was the junior member of the team when Rodney Grahame set up the hypermobility clinic at Guy's in 1978.
    His definition of marfanoid habits is arbitrary and I doubt validated by any formal data. I also doubt that it is any clearer about requirements than you find it!
    High palate, pectus excavated and arachnodactyly are features of Marfan syndrome. Whether they have any relevance to any other genetically determined hyper mobile states I very much doubt.

pteropus, TrixieStix, FMMM1 and 2 others like this.
  3. Blizna

Blizna New Member