The MEpedia Primer for Journalists

Discussion in 'MEpedia' started by Yann04, Jun 5, 2024.

1. Yann04

Yann04 Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Hi, I’m creating this thread because the Me-pedia primer for journalists is outdated.

However, it is likely still being seen by many journalists:
    * The page gets hundreds of views per day
    * It is the first google search result for various searches related to journalism and reporting on ME
    * The other prominent search result, MEAction’s more recent guide on how to report on ME, directly recommends the me-pedia primer for journalists. See S4ME thread.

Therefore, hopefully, we can slowly work on updating and polishing it.

bobbler, EzzieD, Sean and 9 others like this.
  2. ME/CFS Skeptic

ME/CFS Skeptic Senior Member (Voting Rights)

3. Yann04

I wonder if it is worth shortening it. If I was a journalist looking at that page, I might read the first paragraph, then quickly skim through the rest, be overwhelmed by the length and “chaos” and just go google the CDC page instead.

Amw66, alktipping, rvallee and 3 others like this.
  4. Kitty

Kitty Senior Member (Voting Rights)

I don't think I was really aware it existed.

Maybe the first thing to do is to see if the wiki will accept a note saying the page is in the process of being updated and reorganised? That might make it look a bit more credible, and give a hint to journalists that it's worth exploring other sources for the time being. I've never tried to edit anything, though, so I don't really know how it works.

5. Nightsong

Nightsong Senior Member (Voting Rights)

After a very quick skim:
    There's a lot of this, & the usual "systemic neuroimmune..." style guff which would be better excised.
    I think this framing is a mistake. There's not much evidence that anyone can treat idiopathic CF either. Not to mention that "charlatans" by definition cannot treat anything.

There are a few typos ("exasperate the flu-like symptoms").