Living With ME - Documentary by Thomas McCann

Discussion in 'Advocacy Projects and Campaigns' started by Andy, Jun 25, 2023.

1. Andy

Andy Committee Member

"My name is Thomas McCann and I am a recent Graduate of the Edinburgh Napier University BA Journalism Course. This documentary was created by me and submitted as my Major Project.

ME is a chronic illness which has been under researched and poorly understood for decades, and those who suffer from it have felt both ignored by the medical community and forgotten by society. However, new research into ME is now underway.

This documentary brings together the stories of people with ME, their families and those working to better understand the illness."

22m long. Chris Ponting makes an appearance.

EzzieD, Sean, Hutan and 11 others like this.
  2. Andy

Andy Committee Member

EzzieD, Sean, Hutan and 7 others like this.
  3. Trish

Trish Moderator Staff Member

I've watched most of it. I think it's pretty good because it lets people tell their own story without interrupting them with questions. Chris Ponting was very good. My main problem was the sound quality. Even with the sound on my laptop at maximum I couldn't hear the more softly spoken people, and the YouTube subtitles are full of errors. It would be improved if it had proper subtitles available.

ahimsa, Sean, alktipping and 6 others like this.
  4. JemPD

JemPD Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Sadly i had to give up on it. There is too much background sound over the voices... a humming/low buzzing behind the first lady & then a barking dog & music behind the family. Its impossible for me with sensory overload/sound sensitivity

As @Trish says the youtube subtitles are no good. They struggle with the scottish accent. it'd be great if the sound could be cleaned up or proper subtitles provided.

5. RedFox

RedFox Senior Member (Voting Rights)