Open UK: School Experiences for Young People with ME/CFS

Discussion in 'Recruitment into current ME/CFS research studies' started by Ellen, Jun 8, 2024.

1. Ellen

Ellen New Member

Hello!

I’m looking to recruit participants in the UK aged 16-25 who had ME/CFS during secondary school.

I am a Trainee Educational Psychologist completing my doctoral research project exploring experiences of support in secondary school for those living with ME/CFS. This research is important to inform how education professionals can support and enhance educational experiences and wellbeing for young people with ME/CFS in schools.

The study involves remote interviews (on Zoom) for up to 1 hour with participants aged 16-25 who had a diagnosis of ME/CFS during their secondary education. Interviews will offer flexibility to accommodate for individual needs (e.g. in relation to the timing and length of interviews).

If you have any questions or would like to discuss this opportunity, please do reach out.

Approval for this study has been granted by the Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust.

Thank you!

Ellen Cookson
    Trainee Educational Psychologist, Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust
    Researcher contact details: ecookson@tavi-port.nhs.uk

Supervised by: Dr Hannah Lichwa, Professional and Academic Tutor

Attached Files:

Tia, MEMarge, RedFox and 7 others like this.
  2. Jonathan Edwards

Jonathan Edwards Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Dear Ellen,

It is good to see people wanting to take an interest in ME/CFS. Finding out more about school problems sounds like a useful thing to do.

Could I ask, however, for you to put in some ordinary speak words what specific things you think might come out of it? Enhancing educational experience may sound good on a project title but what's in it for the people who are ill in real life terms?